Saturday, 14 June 2014

Conky Manager v2 Overview

Conky Manager v2 is now available. This is a major update with a completely revamped UI and options.

A big thanks to all who donated to the project. People who donated will receive a complementary user manual via email.

The major changes are summarized below:

New UI with Previews

The main window now displays a list and a preview area.

The list and preview areas can be resized, or hidden using the toggle buttons on the right.

Widgets and Themes

  • A Widget is a Conky configuration file (conkyrc file). A theme is a combination of widgets along with a wallpaper (cmtheme file). Widgets and Themes can be browsed by selecting the dropdown at the top left.

  • Selecting 'Widgets' from the dropdown will list all conkyrc files in the directory ~/.conky. This directory is now the default location where CM will keep all files. This location cannot be changed.

  • You can specify additional search locations from the settings window. By default CM will search and add all locations where conkyrc files can be found (like ~/.Conky, ~/.config/conky, etc).

Browsing Widgets and Themes

  • Use the arrow keys on your keyboard to browse the themes. You can also use the Previous and Next buttons on the toolbar.

  • Press the Enter key on your keyboard to Start and Stop widgets, or use the toolbar buttons.

  • Enter a name in the Filter textbox to filter the list. Enter '0' to display all widgets which are currently active (running).

Editing Widgets and Themes

  • Select a widget or theme from the list and click the Edit button on the toolbar.

Generate Previews

  • If the preview image is missing for any widget, you can generate it using the toolbar button.

  • Generating previews will take some time. The images are saved in the same directory that has the conkyrc file.

  • Previews can be generated only for widgets (not themes).

User Manual

If you wish to receive a copy of the user manual please leave a donation using the PayPal link below. The copy will be sent to you by email.

The manual has a detailed description of the functionality along with steps required for creating theme packs and for fixing common issues.

People who have already donated to this project or who have contributed in some other way (translations, etc) need not donate again. Just drop me a mail to receive your copy.

Options

8 comments:

  1. Thank you dude :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hello,

    I see that your Ubuntu 12.04 package fails to build due to a Vala issue. I'm guessing (didn't test it though) it will work if you add the Vala PPA as a dependency for your PPA. To do this, go here: https://launchpad.net/~teejee2008/+archive/ppa/+edit-dependencies and add the following PPA dependency: vala-team/ppa Then retry the package build.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Andrew,

      I've already added the Vala PPA as a dependency. Issue is with something else.
      I get the following error in the build log:
      MainWindow.vala.c:(.text+0x52ef): undefined reference to `gtk_tree_view_set_activate_on_single_click'
      Looks like the GTK bindings for Vala are not up-to-date on 12.04.

      Delete
    2. I see that you've copied the Ubuntu 13.10 package for Ubuntu 12.04. That unfortunately doesn't work because the package depends on libgtk-3-0 >= 3.7.10, libglib2.0-0 >= 2.35.9 and so on, and those packages aren't available for Precise...

      Delete
  3. Great app! Configuring Conky has never been so easy.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

If you are reporting an issue and commenting as an anonymous user, please leave your email address so that I can get in touch with you.